Tours, travels, hikes and journeys!

Hello Friends!

Here is part 2 of my La Jolla visit. After leaving the little church, https://katelontjeffereys.wordpress.com/2017/07/09/la-jolla-ca-visit-part-1/

I walked down to Prospect St. to the Legends Gallery.  I love their collection.  Their address is 1205 Prospect St. Suite B., La Jolla, CA. 92037. I have written about them before. They have an amazing collection of Dr. Seuss artwork, the lovely art from his famous books and other works as well.  Right now they are also showing whimsical and heartwarming work by Mackenzie Thorpe.  I had seen his work before and was delighted by these new pieces.   A couple of them are definitely going on my wish list:

This one is entitled “You Are My Rock”.  It feels very poignant to me.  I love the stars in the sky. If you are viewing this on a phone, you can click on the photo and enlarge it.
2017-06-22 17.36.04

This next one is called “It’s Magic”.  To me if references the cow who jumped over the moon…but now the cow has cargo and friends 🙂

2017-06-22 17.39.11

As I was walking on the other side of the street, I passed this lovely sculpture that seemed to be a sea enchantress.

2017-06-26 16.27.52

I then headed down toward the water, to Ellen Browning Scripps Park.  There is plenty of trees to sit under and grass to play on, restrooms and a sidewalk that offers a stunning view of the ocean below.  On the large rock, there were numerous birds.

From there I walked south on the sidewalk to the famous La Jolla Cove.  You can walk down on the sand but there are barriers to make sure you don’t disturb the seals. There is a pathway you can walk down that allows you to look in one direction down toward the beach with the seals, and on the other side, look out toward the ocean and rocks below.

2017-06-22 15.58.42

I had taken the photo of this seal on a rock before walking down to take the above photo. On the way back up the walkway, I stopped again to look at the seal and just then it dove into the water. Then, out of what seemed like a small hole behind where he was laying, one after another seals flopped out and then into the ocean, about 5 of them. It was like a magic trick where the magician keeps pulling rabbits out of the hat and you wonder how they all fit in there!

2017-06-22 15.56.45

I hope you have enjoyed this tour of a small part of La Jolla. If you are visiting CA, come check it out!

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

Tag Cloud

