Tours, travels, hikes and journeys!

Happy New Years everyone! Hope no matter what or how you celebrate, you had wonderful holidays and a Happy New Year! I have spent way too many holidays away from family so I know how holidays can be stressful or lonely, but I still love them and find things to celebrate anyway…like the Bruce Cockburn holiday station Pandora put together for me. I loved listening to it. 2016 was a rough year in many ways but I truly believe that 2017 is going to be THE year where we move fully into the light…the planet, humanity and begin a peaceful existence in all ways. Outer appearances may say something else but I feel differently and feel that the dark chaos that appears physically now will soon be a faded bad dream of long ago.

I took myself to lovely Balboa Park, in San Diego, CA. on Christmas Eve day. I’ve had challenges since so am just now getting around to posting. It was such a beautiful day at the park that I wandered around filled with bliss, seeing old things and new things as if with eyes I’d not used before.

I parked in a different parking lot than I had parked in before, this one near the Historic Carousel and Spanish Village, the gathering of art studios featuring various mediums.

So…first stop was the Historic Carousel, built in 1910. It was hand carved in North Tonawanda and shipped to CA. It was designed by Herschell- Spillman. It was fun to see children of all ages enjoying the ride.
wp-image-1031604339jpg.jpg

As I walked from the Carousel and turned the corner into the Spanish Village area, I spotted this lovely wreath high up on the wall, with the beautiful blue sky and clouds above. It was supposed to have been a rainy day but luckily for me, the sky stayed blue my entire walk.
wp-1484004792287.jpg

The first studio I noticed was this one, number 41, that carries some jewelry but mostly stunning glass pieces. In the window were various glass balls that would look beautiful on a big Christmas tree.
wp-1484004790509.jpg

Right next to that, was a sweet tree decorated for the holidays. You can see other studios along the side.
wp-1484004790736.jpg

I wandered into the Sculptors Guild patio, a place I had never noticed before. The pieces were quite different from each other and made from different materials. There were smaller pieces, carved and painted whimsical “chairs”, wood sculptures, large whimsical sculptures faced with colored glass, and large metal sculptures so delicate that it seemed that if you touched parts of them, it would feel like delicate fabric. You can see a second metal sculpture in the background behind a voluptuous figure.
wp-image-1019977254jpg.jpg
wp-image-755653618jpg.jpg
wp-1484004794920.jpg
wp-1484004794506.jpg
wp-1484004795371.jpg
wp-1484004794042.jpg
wp-1484004793595.jpg

There were a couple of larger displays out in the main Spanish Village area, that were made from sustainable, recycled materials. The trees in both were made from corks. One was this clever “Gingerbread house” with presents in front, and the other a mini-forest with carolers in front.
wp-image-2042829783jpg.jpg
wp-image-827442058jpg.jpg

What a delightful place to spend an afternoon. I wandered in a few other studios to look at delicate jewelry, gorgeous hand painted scarves and “vests”, exotic feathered pieces for the wall, beautiful paintings, and hand made ornaments for the tree. I love witnessing the immensity of the creative spirit.

If you happen to be in San Diego on a visit, I highly recommend you visit Balboa Park and wander into Spanish Village!

Comments on: "Belated Balboa Park Christmas Eve Day Post 1." (4)

  1. Great photos! Looks like you had fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like you had a wonderful day enjoying these unique pieces. Great photos!

    Liked by 1 person

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

Tag Cloud

