Tours, travels, hikes and journeys!

The other day I took a walk on the boardwalk, on a gray winter day. It is one of my favorite times at the beach as visitors are few and I can wander and remember times gone by, as a kid, coming here for vacations. Yes, those vacations were in the summer but it seems like it wasn’t as busy then.

Here is the gray ocean and sky day with very few people on the beach.
wp-1482197734645.jpg

I noticed this lovely mural at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel, a hotel right on the boardwalk, at the intersection of Boardwalk and Pacific Street.
wp-1482197684604.jpg

Looking down the boardwalk, which was narrower when I was a kid, you can see very few people on the beach or going down the boardwalk.
wp-1482197608899.jpg

Here is the side and front of the Surfer hotel. It used to be painted white with blue trim. My Mom, my son, and I, used to stay here often when she was alive and after she died. It is also on the corner of the boardwalk and Pacific Street.
wp-1482197608906.jpg

Just to the north and east of the Surfer, are two sets of apartments, that are now olive green. When I was a kid, these were called the Denton apartments, and were painted white with red trim. I remember staying in this set of apartments on the second floor and can still remember the inside of it. My Mom had taken a photo of my brother, two other children from another family from our hometown, and me, when I was around 7. She actually kept the little t-shirt I was wearing in the photo and I still have it….all four of us sitting on the stairs. I don’t have that photo with me but when I do get a hold of it, I’ll add it to this post.
wp-1482197609402.jpgwp-1482197608900.jpg

So that’s a little trip down memory lane on a brisk and windy Dec. day! Thanks for joining me 🙂

Comments on: "Gray Winter Day at Pacific Beach, San Diego, CA" (2)

  1. Thanks so much for sharing your pictures and story! Would love to see the picture of you as a child on those same stairs. Really cool. Thanks for sharing with us!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for reading and commenting Zak!. I don’t know why my Mom kept the t-shirt, but I still have the photo and the t-shirt now.

      The photo is bittersweet in that my brother died when he was 21, and the other little boy in the picture also died in his early 20’s. So only us two little girls remain.

      Like

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

Tag Cloud

