Tours, travels, hikes and journeys!

Hello All! It’s been a while and I apologize for that. But I’m back with some photos from my Sunday stroll through lovely Balboa Park.

I started my exploration in Spanish Village. I love the brightly colored tiles, the unevenness of the patio and little studios and of course the lovely art to be found in each one of them. My favorite to look at these days is jewelry. Being on the road I’m more interested in wearable art. There are a variety of jewelry styles offered in the studios and in booths set up in the plaza, so come check them out.

2016-04-05-04.30.50.jpg.jpg

Next I stopped by the Floral Show with the Plumeria Society, in Casa del Prado. Each weekend a different floral show takes place in a room there. I had thought there would be flowers but instead, the room was filled with various sized cuttings of Plumeria varieties, for people to purchase and plant at home.

2016-04-05-04.30.06.jpg.jpg

I love walking through the Botanical garden. In addition to their regular displays, they set up a different center display depending upon the season. This time it was a display of Easter Lily.

2016-04-05-04.28.37.jpg.jpg

In the entrance way there were various orchids. I took photos of two that intrigued me.

2016-04-05-04.29.21.jpg.jpg

2016-04-05-04.26.30.jpg.jpg

Then the pattern on the underneath of this palm leaf caught my eye. Isn’t it stunning?

2016-04-05-04.27.40.jpg.jpg

I have a fascination with the Greek Goddess Artemis, so I stopped in at the Timken Museum of Art to check out their latest exhibit. It is called “An Archaeologist’s Eye”. The display is a combination of graphic and pastel pencil drawings by Katherine A. Schwab, an archaeologist and artist, photos of the sculptures they are based on, and information about the Greek Parthenon. “The Parthenon is a former temple on the Athenian Acropolis, Greece, dedicated to the goddess Athena, whom the people of Athens considered their patron.” https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parthenon. Since there has been much decay to these sculptures, Katherine did these drawings to attempt to fill in more detail lost to the ages. You can visit the museum and explore this interesting display. The Timken has no entrance fee.
http://www.timkenmuseum.org/exhibitions/archaeologists-eye

2016-04-05-04.25.05.jpg.jpg

On my way back to my car I passed through the International Cottage area. I had missed the House of India presentation but saw these three lovely ladies dressed for the event.

2016-04-05-04.23.18.jpg.jpg

Finally, almost to my car, I passed by this huge Eucalyptus tree and was stopped in my tracks to touch it and admire its age and size. I love engaging with nature so I am often petting the trees, flowers, and plants I pass, taking in their smells, textures and beauty.

2016-04-05-04.22.00.jpg.jpg

It was another lovely day at Balboa Park. Thanks for joining me. Come see for yourself all that Balboa Park has to offer!

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

Tag Cloud