Tours, travels, hikes and journeys!

Christmas Day Walk About

Hello All….finishing off photos taken before I ended up in bed, sick, on the 28th.

I’m alone,  so I try to be creative on Christmas.  It started out as a cold, windy day.  I took myself to breakfast then walked out to the Pier at Pacific Beach. I loved the feeling of the cold wind and blustery day. People were friendlier than usual, wishing each other Merry Christmas. I’m like a Golden retriever out around people, so I’m always saying hello to everyone who  seems open to a smile.

Here is a photo taken looking north off the pier. The high rise is called Capri by the Sea, and are condos rented out by the owners.

2015-12-30-10.00.14.jpg.jpg

Looking out at this water, it still amazes me to think back to my 8 year old self, on a canvas raft, out beyond the waves alone, hanging out for hours each day while on vacation with my parents.  Somehow, their normal hovering over me that I received in my home town was discarded on vacations and my days consisted of being in the ocean for hours, alone, then coming in and walking back to the place on the beach where we were staying, then coming out to the seawall at night to listen to the waves. The freedom was exhilarating.  Every summer vacation here was the same.  Freedom!!!!

The next one is looking south, taken from the pier.

2015-12-30-09.58.21.jpg.jpg

Then I headed out, attempting to find a hiking trail I had investigated online the night before, called Los Penesquitos.  I had figured out tentatively that the trail head I was looking for was off of Sorrento Valley Blvd. east of I-805. I looked on an online map and it seemed to be just north of Mira Mesa Blvd. I still don’t know many of the areas here, so I ended up driving north on 805, not seeing the proper exit, taking one anyway and intuitively then turning east and weaving around looking for the correct road. I ended up back on 805 going south, took another exit and turned east, near Mira Mesa, trying this road and that, and finally, finally, found Sorrento Valley Blvd.   For a short distance there were no houses and my breath deepened, making me realize how much I miss being more out in the country and not in a city.

I felt excited to try this new to me trail as it seemed like I  would be able to hike as much or as little as I wanted to, it was mostly flat but there was a waterfall, some ruins, big boulders, and it looked interesting.  Then, I finally saw the entrance I had been looking for……and it had a bar across it so I couldn’t enter the parking lot to catch the trail head. I drove further east, hoping to find another way in and couldn’t, so ended up just turning around and heading back to San Diego.

I decided to just go to Balboa Park, good ole Balboa Park, and see if I could find some trails there that I hadn’t taken before.  I parked south of the Science museum and walked west to the area south of the Mingei and heading toward the hospitality cottages. I saw a trail from above.

2015-12-30-09.53.48.jpg.jpg

So I headed a little north again, curved to the left and found these stairs to walk down.

2015-12-30-09.55.45.jpg.jpg

Just after heading down the stairs and turning west to find the trails, I noticed this close up view of the powerful and extensive root system of a Eucalyptus tree.

2015-12-30-09.57.04.jpg.jpg

I found a couple parallel trails so I took the north one until it dead ended, then circled back and caught the south one. I followed that one until the end and ended up coming out at the Automotive Museum on the west side of the main park.  I turned around and headed back onto the trail again and found a nice view spot to see the Cabrillo Bridge.  I had posted pictures on my blog before taken from on the bridge, so it was nice to see it from this view.

2015-12-30-09.54.44.jpg.jpg

Even though I didn’t find the trail I was looking for, I still enjoyed the drive, exploring and having an adventure. Even though I’d occasionally see people on the Balboa Park trail, it felt more like I was out in nature and not in a managed park.

Hope you’ve enjoyed my Christmas adventure.

May the New Year be a very healthy and happy one, beyond even what we can imagine for ourselves and the world.

 

 

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

Tag Cloud

