Tours, travels, hikes and journeys!

On Dec. 5, and Dec. 6, Balboa park held their 38th annual December Nights celebration. It started at 3 on Friday and noon on Sat. I first read about it while visiting San Diego in 2003. I couldn’t figure out how to get there at the time so didn’t go. Since I was in town last year, I attempted to go but again couldn’t figure out parking and ended up driving home. This year, I researched it so that I could find parking.

I was up early at 4:30 that morning, so kind of sleepy all day but I’m glad I went. I arrived early at 10:30, to park in the free Zoo parking, which put me only a short walk to the main festivities. As I arrived so early, I just walked around to watch the set up, and since I wanted to see the lights, I stayed until after dark to see the park lit up. I walked around for about 5 hours, sat or stood and watched some of the performances, ate some junk (hot dog wrapped in bacon with Mexican style sauteed veggies with it, kettle corn) and some healthy fruit snacks I took, too. I’m glad I went and glad I had the stamina to keep going all day.

I saw so much that I decided to divide my posts into 5 posts. If you are ever in San Diego for this event, check it out!

I’m starting with the lights!

2015-12-08-13.16.55.jpg.jpg

I started walking west toward the plaza at sunset. On both sides of the avenue, the buildings had trees out of lights on top.

2015-12-08-13.15.39.jpg.jpg

Here is the sun setting lighting the California Tower and casting a beautiful glow on the Plaza.

2015-12-08-13.14.31.jpg.jpg

The main plaza had these lights strung across it and this lit up tower.

2015-12-08-13.12.54.jpg.jpg

I loved this snowflake cast on the California Tower, and the lit up street welcoming the thousands of visitors. People were pouring into the park for the night activities.

2015-12-08-13.11.50.jpg.jpg

Here are some lovely snowflakes shining on the Botanical building.

2015-12-08-13.13.43.jpg.jpg

The organ pavilion looked magical lit up in lights.

2015-12-08-13.08.58.jpg.jpg

2015-12-08-13.09.50.jpg.jpg

2015-12-08-13.10.59.jpg.jpg

These were light displays set up on the east side of the zoo. I walked past them on my way back to my car.

Hope you’ve enjoyed these photos! Thanks for joining me.

Comments on: "Balboa Park December Nights …the lights!" (4)

  1. Nice pictures Katelon! It must have been something to see this up close and personal.

    Liked by 1 person

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

Tag Cloud

