Tours, travels, hikes and journeys!

Last Sunday after attending a Kundilini Yoga community workshop, I headed over to Balboa Park.  I parked on the east side, behind the Fleet Science museum and walked west.  I’d never walked over the Cabrillo Bridge, so decided to do that.

I stopped to take a few pictures of the Museum of Man.   I’ve seen some pictures of its interior and it looks like a lovely place to see, but for quite awhile, one of their exhibits is about instruments of torture, and I don’t want to even walk in there with that in there.

The outside is very lovely though.

wpid-2015-08-26-18.06.44.jpg.jpeg

wpid-2015-08-26-18.08.04.jpg.jpeg

wpid-2015-08-26-18.09.01.jpg.jpeg

Then I walked past these lovely succulents in a flower bed near the museum.

wpid-2015-08-26-17.50.59.jpg.jpeg

wpid-2015-08-26-17.41.23.jpg.jpeg

Cabrillo Bridge was designed by Thomas B. Hunter, of San Francisco for the 1915 Panama-California Exposition. It was designed after bridges in Mexico and Spain.  It is built mostly of Redwood as its base.  The entire length of the bridge is 916 feet including approaches, with the main span of 450 feet.  It is 120 feet high. There are 7 arches each measuring 56 feet across.  It was started in Dec. 1912 and dedicated by Franklin D. Roosevelt in April 12, 1914.  It was the first multiple arched cantilever bridge built in CA.

I didn’t get pictures of the bottom of the bridge as I was walking over it 🙂

It was built to span over Cabrillo Canyon. HWY 163 passes underneath it, which was completed in Feb. 1948.

Here is a  picture of the bridge from the top, looking east toward the Museum of Man.

wpid-2015-08-26-18.02.54.jpg.jpeg

Here’s the plaque.

wpid-2015-08-26-18.04.25.jpg.jpeg

When you cross the bridge to the west, there is park on both the north and south sides.  The north side has this lovely tree planter heralding the entrance to Balboa park.

wpid-2015-08-26-17.52.38.jpg.jpeg

On the south side of the bridge once you cross to the west is a dog park and walking trails.

Here is the lovely view of downtown San Diego and the freeway, looking south from the bridge.

wpid-2015-08-26-17.53.45.jpg.jpeg

If I ever get the opportunity to take a picture of the bridge from down below I’ll add it 🙂

Thanks for walking with me, hope you enjoyed the journey.  It was early evening and the park still had visitors but it had that quieter energy that happens there as the crowds dissipate.

Comments on: "Cabrillo Bridge and the Museum of Man, Balboa Park August 23, 2015" (6)

  1. Every time I walk past the Museum of Man, I’ve got to pause and look at the facade. It’s so elegant and interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree. I won’t go in right now but the outside is so beautiful. I loved the domed building next to it the best though.

      I just saw you started following my “walk with me” blog?! I thought you had followed it a year or so ago, which then introduced me to your blog? I appreciate your support. You get out in San Diego much more than me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve been following all along. My reader had so many follows, I did a mass purge! Not enough time to read hundreds of blogs!

        Like

        • I thought so. I rarely go to my reader, so don’t usually follow blogs unless I can get a notice via email each time a new post is posted. I also don’t follow blogs unless I am going to regularly read them and interact, like them or comment. Thanks for keeping mine as one of those you kept 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • I tried to bookmark my favs for a while, but finally decided on using the reader. It’s super convenient, but very tempting to keep adding follows! I suppose I’m going to end up with hundreds of follows once again! Oh, well…

            Liked by 1 person

          • My reader is filled with posts from a blog I don’t like and don’t follow, and the guy posts several times a day, so I rarely go to my reader. It is only supposed to have blogs I follow yet when I look at that blog I don’t like and attempt to unfollow it, it says I’m not following it, and I don’t know how to get it off there. Plus, the email thing works great for me.

            Liked by 1 person

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

Tag Cloud

