Tours, travels, hikes and journeys!

I’ve been on my present “leap” journey since Nov. 1, 2012, when I leaped out of Seattle, WA, on faith, thinking I’d be settled somewhere in a month or so. Meanwhile almost 118 weeks later, I’m still “on the road”. I’ve stayed in some homes/hotels/b in b’s for a night, some for a weekend, some for weeks, some for months. I’ve been in OR, No. CA, So. CA, UT and AZ.

Along the way, I’ve always found beauty, something to catch my eye, fill my heart. So here are some more sights I’ve gathered along my walks in my present neighborhood in San Diego, CA.

Many people use more desert plants here and right now there are many succulents flowering. I love the difference in color, texture and shape.

Succulants flowering 9

Succulant flowering 1

Succulant flowering 2

Succulant flowering 7

Succulants flowering 3

Succulants flowering 4

Succulants flowering 5

Succulants flowering 6

Succulants flowering 8

I walked by several poinsettia bushes. I’ve kept them before, after the holidays, as house plants but never seen them as bushes.

Pointsetta bush

One house had a very whimsical but random display of little children’s toys in both their front “flower” beds.

Flower bed play ground

I noticed these lovely garden walls, and enjoyed seeing the textures, and the different shapes.

More borders

Interesting border

It’s always interesting to me to see how people choose to decorate their yard, what kind of adornments they choose, what paths, what plants and colors, etc. I realize that it is a long time investment, so there must be great thought put into the decisions. These two yards are interesting to me. The one seems to speak of the race between the tortoise and the hares and yet there seems to be a chorus of howling wolves to announce the winner, all set amidst the weeds:

The tortoise and the hare judged by the wolves

And this one just had a random, VERY random collection of statues all around the flower bed and behind it was another eagle collection surrounding their American flagpole.

The collection

Then there were these two very different plants that seemed so dramatic and pretty to me. The one reminded me of a hula dancer.

Pretty plant

Hula palm

I walk my host’s dog and have been extending our walks longer and longer and finding new streets to add to our stroll. There is a park at the bottom of our street and it has a dirt path that leads north through a wild area, and onto a street. For a brief moment, I can forget I am in the city and imagine I am in the middle of a forest 🙂

Neighborhood wild space

Hope you have enjoyed my present neighborhood and the fruit of my walks. If you look with eyes to see, you can find beauty everywhere! Thanks for joining me.

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

Tag Cloud

