Tours, travels, hikes and journeys!

Last Sunday I needed to get out of the house so I headed first to Pacific Beach. On my walk I walked past this Santa under the pier, setting up his pictures with Santa space.

Santa under the pier Dec 7 2014

On the way back, I noticed the tree set up at the end of the pier.
Tree on the pier pacifc beach

After leaving the beach, I wasn’t ready to head home yet, so I headed for Balboa park. I had attempted to go to the Christmas Nights festival the Friday before, something I had wanted to do for years, but when I got there, parking seemed to be impossible and/or pricey, so I gave up and headed home that night. I figured there would still be Christmas decorations up though so I thought I’d just stay on this “hunting for Christmas decorations” quest.

The first decorations I noticed were this Santa, his sleigh and reindeer on the lawn approaching the fountain in front of the Museum of Modern Art.
Santa and his sleigh Balboa park

From there I headed over to the Globe theater and found the Dr. Seuss Christmas Tree.
Dr Seuss Christmas tree by the globe theater

I had read about the Poinsettia display in the Botanical Garden and found several lovely displays throughout the building.
Entrance to the Botanical garden balboa park

Poinsetta Botanical garden 2

poinsetta botanical garden 4

poinsetta botanical garden 5

poinsetta close up botanical garden 3

After leaving the Botanical Garden building, I headed over to Spanish Village and all the artisan studios. Throughout the village there were artistic trees, unusual trees, and various displays.
Spanish Village 1

Spanish village 2

Spanish Village 3

Spanish village 4

Throughout my time there, I took some breaks to get a snack and sit and eat it and read, then I’d walk around some more, then walked over near the playground to sit and read some more. It was a lovely sunny day and it felt great to be outside. Last time during the Christmas holiday, I was in Campo, CA and there were few Christmas decorations, so I am enjoying seeing Christmas lights and decorations in my neighborhood and all the places I go.

My last stop was at the Organ Pavilion, with an organ concert taking place. The stage was filled with a huge decorated Christmas tree.
organ pavillion christmas tree 2

I hope you’ve enjoyed this Christmas in San Diego post. I’m sure there will be more before the month is over. I’m curious about how Old Town decorates for Christmas, wondering if the skeleton mannequins still remain prominent there or if that was just for around Halloween time.

Enjoy your holiday season and let the lights light up your heart and bring you peace!

Comments on: "Christmas Decorations in San Diego" (2)

  1. Very pretty! My mom’s favorite flower is the Poinsettia so I know she’d appreciate those that you found. Looks very beautiful, thanks for sharing with us Katelon! Enjoy the rest of the year and the festivities!! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Zak! I especially liked that variegated poinsettia. I’ve not seen ones like that in stores. Thanks for taking the time to comment. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Here’s to continued great health to you for the rest of the year and beyond and a wonderful holiday season!

      Liked by 1 person

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

Tag Cloud

