Tours, travels, hikes and journeys!

I decided to head over to Balboa Park on Sunday, July 27th, to hear an organ concert. Many of the listeners came equipped with umbrellas. I sought out the shade of a tree and sat on the ground:) The acoustics are so wonderful, the architecture so beautiful.

Spreckels organ pavillion

When the concert was over I decided to head to the Botanical Garden. I had read about the orchid show in the garden. Here are some photos I took of the various orchids. Keep in mind these pictures were taken with a camera phone….low end camera at that, as I haven’t made the move to a smart phone yet. I think the pictures turned out pretty well though.

Orchids 6

Orchids 5

Orchids 4

Orchids 3

Orchids 2

Orchids 1

After leaving the garden, I walked by a Father and daughter, sitting on a bench, with a beautiful orchid plant sitting next to them. I stopped to comment on it and the man directed me to a show and orchid sale going on in a nearby building. Here are photos of two of the orchids there.

Orchids 8

Orchids 7

Next I headed over to lay on the ground and soak up the root energy of this tree that has the distinction of having one of the largest expanses in the world. On the way there, I passed by the “pirates” dangling from the building, advertising the ongoing pirate exhibition.

Pirate exhibition

Large tree

Lastly, on the way back, I stopped near the butterfly garden and noticed a bench memorial for the great activist Harvey Milk. A sweet ending to a sweet afternoon.

Harvey Milk Bench

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

Tag Cloud

