Tours, travels, hikes and journeys!

More Balboa Park Photos

Since being in San Diego again, Balboa park has become one of my favorite hang out places.  I’m more of an outdoors/country person and thrive when I can go out on the isolated hikes like I did while in Tucson, AZ.  I have tried to find such places in San Diego but the traffic deters me and being around the city and crowds is a bit overwhelming for me energetically.  So Balboa park becomes my go to place.  I usually go on a weekday when it is less crowded.  Somehow the architecture and landscaping gives me some sense of that nature vibration I’m seeking and the buffer from traffic and city life

This last visit I explored a couple areas I hadn’t explored before:

I love all the arches on the various buildings.

ArchesMore arches

 

I took the time this visit to check out the Spanish Village Art  Center.  There are various studios run by artists using different mediums.  Here is a picture of the bright tiled pathway. the next picture is of the kaleidoscope flower pot, set at the north end of the village. You spin the pot and look through the viewer and see a  kaleidoscope view of the flowering plants in the pot.

Pathway  Kalidiscope flower pot Flower pot view

This is a picture of the lovely detailed columns that appear on buildings throughout the park.

Columns

There are many exhibitions, movies, plays, and performances going on daily at the park in addition to the zoo, museums, restaurants, gardens and attractions to see.  I invite you to go check it out!!!

 

Comments on: "More Balboa Park Photos" (4)

  1. Hi! If you don’t mind a 60 mile drive, there are great hikes out east at Mt. Laguna. The 6000 foot elevation with pine trees and relative isolation makes it feel like a true wilderness hike, and the views over the desert below out to the Salton Sea are amazing!

    • Thanks for the suggestion. I remember that hike from MANY years ago and yes it is lovely. I’m just not into driving that much these days as it seems that so much of San Diego life is driving. I did hike off of Friars road one time, which is closer, and it was ok…just ok;)

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 505 other followers

